January Update

The house selling is going slow. We’ve been on the market now for nearly 5 months. I can’t believe it’s been that long. We’ve had a little more interest now it’s the new year (including an unexpected visit at 10 o clock Saturday morning!) but no offers.

I’m not letting myself get too stressed about it, I’m a firm believer in what will be will be and there’s a reason we are being made to wait. Perhaps our dream house isn’t yet on the market?

We still visit Mersea most weekends for brunch or a walk, we make plans. Building plans, renovation, decoration, business, life, holidays. You name it, it gets planned on the sea wall in Mersea with a belly full of scrambled egg and bacon.

In more exciting news I began my Masters this month. I have only had some pre course tasks to complete but it’s already quite interesting. The masters is in Education: language and literacy. One of the first modules I’m doing is about reading: in particular reading comprehension and children’s literature. I need to read as much children’s literature as possible for this course which suits me, and my class, just fine! We’ve just finished Skellig which is one of my favourites. The class made me go on amazon and order them everything else by David Almond.

I’ve decided this is the year of new creative skills. When the revolution comes, people like me will be important! I’ve booked my self onto a wool spinning class this weekend at the Waltham Abbey Wool Show, enquired about hand dyeing yarn and Tunisian crochet locally and booked me and a friend onto silk scarf dyeing and lampshade making at The Knitting and Stitching show in March. Other things I’d look out for are: pottery throwing, watercolour and needle felting! So let me know if you know of anything in Essex!

What is your New Year’s resolution?

Leave a comment