River Fun

Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing – absolutely nothing – half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.

-Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows

Living up to our true water sign natures (Scorpio and Pisces), we went and got ourselves 3 very old kayaks. 

The last time I kayacked I was 14 and it was for about 25 minutes on the Loire in France so I was holding out much hope of being any good. Apparently I should believe in myself more as I took to it like a duck to water and we kayaked pretty effortlessly from Dedham boat house to Flatford Mill. Usually we walk or row the journey, both equally as lovely, but there’s something really special about being in a kayak. The river is beautiful, full of wildlife and wonderful vistas. The river is a friendly place too, everyone chats to you as you move along saying good afternoon and enquiringly of the journey. The area can be chocca with rowing boats and everyone laughs politely when they grind to a halt in the bushes. People have picnics along the bank too and will comment on how they should all buy kayaks- and they should!


Sometimes, if you’re lucky, the beautiful cows and their calves come down to the water for a drink and you can admire their lovely faces- I loves cows 🐮 


We’ve a been a few times this summer and I can feel the difference in my arms! What a good workout! I’d like to join a club to improve my technique and then start doing longer paddles with time for picnics stops and possibly even camping! 

We took my cousin out most recently and she was a pro too. I think the key is to have a cafe with some chocolate brownie and cloudy lemonade as a goal and that keeps you straight and smooth. 


Any recommendations for paddling routes?

X

Leave a Reply

