Yummy Katsu Chicken

I have just made the most delicious curry I’ve ever tasted. In fact M went as far as to say the one of the best meals I’ve made (in 10 years!).
We had Katsu at Inamo on Saturday night and I said I would make it this week. It was really quite simple and didn’t involve loads of ingredients I needed to buy because I already had it all in my cupboards!

Serves 2

You will need:

2 small onions – sliced

2 garlic cloves-chopped

2 medium carrots -chopped up small 

1 table spoon curry powder

1table spoon of flour

350ml of hot vegetable stock

3 teaspoons honey

2 teaspoons soy sauce 

Half a teaspoon of garam masala 

2 medium sized chicken breasts lightly seasoned 

One pak choi bulb (?)

Wrap the chicken in foil and bake for 25 until juices run clear. (If you want to be super healthy you could grill the chicken. The traditional recipe calls for the chicken to be breadcrumbed but I couldn’t be arsed.)

Sauté the  onion and garlic in the olive oil until translucent. Add in the carrots for 10. Gently sautée, it shouldn’t be hissing! 

Sprinkle in the flour and curry powder evenly and stir for a couple of minutes to cook it out. 

Slowly add the hot stock and bring to the boil. Add the soy sauce and only 1 teaspoon of honey and turn down. Simmer for 20 minutes. It should thicken but still be pourable. 

Use a blender to blend until the sauce is smooth. Taste. More honey? Add in another spoon. If you don’t have a blender use a masher to mash it up and strain through a sieve. No bother. 

Steam some pak Chou for 8 minutes before serving. 

Finally stir through the garam masala mixed spice. 

Keep warm until your chicken breast has been thinly sliced and laid on a bed of rice.

Today I used quinoa, wild rice and bulgar wheat mixture (you know- healthy..) but I would have preferred to have had steamed jasmine rice. (The picture below shows when I DID use jasmine rice)

Enjoy!


Inventive steaming!

Leave a Reply

