Clam Shell Bobbles Stitches

The weather has really warmed up this week! I went up to Lincolnshire to see the family and it was a balmy 11 degrees. ๐ŸŒž The crocuses and snowdrops were all in bloom and daffodils greet you in all the supermarkets. It won’t be long before every roundabout in the land will be a riot of yellow! 

Part 1 of the Scheepjes 2017 CAL the Hygge Shawl was released on Wednesday.  See the guage square and cross stitch practise here. I got halfway through and compared it to others’ on the fb page. Definitely not as bobbly as I would have liked! 


So I took the decision to frog it all (the horror!) and started again. 

Rather than crocheting in the yarn I wasn’t using, like the pattern suggested, I dropped it and picked it up when I changed. It doesn’t matter as it’s going to be backed anyway. The bobbles I added in another ‘yarn over pull through two’ to make it bigger and made sure I pulled it really tight behind the bobble before I double crocheted. It reminds me of clam shells and coral. 



Daddy’s also gone and bought a puppy! They lost their saluki lurcher before Christmas so last weekend went out and got themselves a lurcher whippet x bedlington. Her name is Nelly! 



She’s so small- like a little mouse! I love her ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿญ she’s mental and very cuddly but likely tires out quite quick so we had lots of sleepy cuddles. 

Anyway, back to the grindstone on Monday. I worked an entire day this half term so hopefully my first week back won’t be too stressful. Famous last words.. 

Currently reading: Local Girl Missing -Claire Douglas. A little slow but because it’s set by the sea with a decrepit old pier and permanent drizzle it’s quite atmospheric. Nearly finished Moon Over Soho- Ben Arranovitch on Audible. It’s the second book in the Rivers of London series. If you like crime dramas and Harry Potter then this is the series for you ๐Ÿ˜

What are you reading? Has anyone else started the Hygge CAL? Spam me your bobbles! 

Leave a Reply

