Sur la Table. A Seaside Wedding pt 2

So a little while a go I gave a sneak peak at our wedding day in Cake by the Ocean.

Today I thought I’d do a quick post on my homemade table decorations.

As I said before, the theme was a beachy/nautical affair as we were on the coast. I really wanted driftwood on the tables but this proved hard to get my hands on! Luckily my brother is a tree surgeon and was able to get his hands on some log slices (note, do not dry these on radiators as they will split if dried too quick!).

The tables were all named after coastal towns and we used Great British Railway postcards on camper van picture holders as table numbers. I didn’t want to clutter the tables but I did want the centre pieces to be quirky and personal. I looked at beautiful professional arrangements but thought that they lacked our personality.

For the name cards I found these gorgeous heart shaped pebbles from the range and our clever friend wrote on everyone’s name in calligraphy. I always keep our name cards when we attend weddings, so thought this would be nice for people to keep. Also in the range were heart shaped stone wine glass charms which would stop people mixing up their drinks!

The favours were my favorite thing about the table. The ladies all had handmade (not by me!) miniature bottles filled with sand and tiny shells. Inside was a thank you from M and me. The bottle had a cute little stopper and was topped by a nautical type charm. So beautiful! The boys had tiny blue beach buckets filled with mini eggs as it was Easter!

The log splice was decorated with seashells and fairy-lights, with a large hurricane lamp filled with sand in the centre. This was offset by a smaller tealight in a blue glass. For flowers my mum ordered pink carnations and gypsophila and filled these gorgeous milk bottles. I found matching coral ribbon to tie around these from a haberdashers.

beautiful

The rest of the table was taken up with glass and silver ware and I asked for the napkins to be fan shaped as they had echos of ‘The Shell’ on Aldeburgh beach.

top table

On the top table, rather than pay for more flowers, I used our bridesmaids and bridal bouquets to decorate the front along with some sweet seashell fairy-lights.

flowers

table

By the door, behind the seating plan, we had a table for the guest book and a lovely ivory lockable postbox. Postboxes to rent were the same price as this second hand one online so we just bought it! I wanted a lockable post box because we didn’t know the area and we were aware that anyone could have wandered in. Also I would have hated for a card to have gone missing and there be an air of suspicion about the day!

book

The camper picture was drawn by the same friend who wrote the stone place settings!

Next time I will detail my dress and details.

Don’t forget to like, follow and share! 🙂

All photography by Stylishly Creative.

Flowers by Karen Lear Flowers, Leiston

Venue Thorpeness Country Club

One thought on “Sur la Table. A Seaside Wedding pt 2

Leave a Reply

