Spinach and mushroom curry

Because I’ve got a wedding dress to get into we’ve been really trying to eat healthily!

 

I was unsure of this dish to begin with but it tasted absolutely divine!

For two greedy pigs/ 3 not so hungry people:

3 big handfuls of spinach

tin of chickpeas

6 normal sized mushrooms

tin of chopped tomatoes

half tablespoon garam masala

sprinkle of chilli flakes

half table spoon curry powder

half tablespoon cumin

teaspoon of ground ginger

pinch of salt

one onion

Saute the onion until translucent in a roomy pan and a little oil. I used my big cooking pot that can be transferred to an oven.

Add the spices and gently cook through. Roughly chop the mushrooms, you don’t want these too small, and add these in. Drain and rinse the chickpeas and mix this into the mixture (I had half a tin of bake beans going to waste to I added these at this point).

Give it a good stir and then follow this with the tin of chopped tomatoes and half a tin of water. I then took the spinach and gave it a rough chop, if you use baby spinach then you won’t need to do this. Add to the pot in small handfuls to allow it to wilt and mix it through. At this point I would have a taste and add anything you think it might be need. I think I added some more spice and some paprika.

Put in the oven on 180 for about half an hour and cook some rice in the meantime. I served with the steaming rice and blob of yoghurt. Would have been really good with some flat bread of naan!

img_1558
Excuse the terrible photo!
Leave a Reply

