Frugal and thoughtful

I made a few little gifts over Christmas, I think small handmade gifts are frugal but also thoughtful. Obviously if you want to make someone a kingsize crocheted blanket that is in no way frugal, price and time wise you’re better off buying something from a shop! But if you have a couple of hours in the evening and some left over scraps it’s the perfect opportunity to show off your talents.

12443074_661506845669_662646240_n

I made these coasters for M’s aunt, they took about 30 minutes each and i just used a selection of purples I had in my stash. I think they would look really lovely in shades of others colours or pastels too. I think I found the pattern on Pinterest and didn’t take long to memorise. I bound them up with some pretty rafia and a simple brown tag.

12463829_661506840679_1435685778_n

12483603_661506820719_1684739313_n

This ear warmer/handband thing was made for M’s cousin who I know loves hats. Unfortunately, because I had so many presents to make and I wasn’t organised enough so didn’t have time for a whole hat. This head band took me about an hour. It was super simple to make (6 dc in back loops only rpt until desired) including the bow. I used a tweedy type yarn I bought from Hobbycraft (I forget the make) which worked beautifully with the tortoiseshell button. She was very pleased with it when she unwrapped it and really surprised I’d made it. She clearly thought it was harder to make than it actually was!

12443070_661506825709_1635875790_n

My friend’s daughter (Princess mouse’s owner) is always a grateful recipient of something handmade. I asked her if she fancied a hat for Christmas and she said she did. In orange.. not the colour her mother or I would probably have chosen but she’s the one wearing it!

I found the pattern for a beret with a popcorn stitch band and large bow and used Stylecraft chunky in Spice.

12483533_661506735889_1626603915_n

For other handmade gifts check out my previous posts on amigurumi unicorns and Christmas elves!

Don’t forget to like, share and follow!

x

wordpress, instagram, twitter and facebook

6 thoughts on “Frugal and thoughtful

Leave a Reply

