Colchester Secret Vintage Fayre

This now seems like so long ago! I had planned to sit and write this post on the bank holiday weekend but the blimmin’ tonsillitis struck again and I didn’t feel like doing anything except laying under my faux reindeer fur throw and watch game of thrones…

The fayre was held at the Town Hall in Colchester, which was also useful for me to see as it is also an elegant wedding venue!

We were shown around by the lovely Janine, one of the organisers, who also runs Lesley’s Girls Vintage store in GO4 Colchester’s indoor vintage, art and craft market.

I had my hair styled into victory rolls by Luxurious Hair and Beauty which looked superb and held so well I kept them for my night out!

wpid-20150425_105938.jpg

The variety of vintage wares on show was spectacular, I could have stayed all day browsing the knick knacks. Cheesecake and Classic vintage and retro shop from Colchester was there with a great selection of vintage a retro garments. Pocket watch & Petticoats too, had a gorgeous selection of reproduction vintage dresses and accessories.

wpid-20150425_110414.jpg
A boat like ours!

I met the lovely Jennie Evans from Sewn with Soul who makes these fantastic cushions! All the profits from their sales are donated to St Helena Hospice which makes them extra special! I bought two, one for me and one for H for her birthday.wpid-20150425_111029.jpg

wpid-20150425_111034.jpg

A stall that really caught my eye was Mae Kandoo. They do craft, sewing and upcycling workshops for parties… (or hen dos!)

wpid-20150425_110922.jpg

wpid-20150425_110917.jpg
Mae Kandoo mouse bookends

Once we’d shopped, browsed and watched the fashion show it was time for a nice cup of tea at Ruby’s Vintage Tea Party pop up cafe. There’s nothing nicer than a cup of tea in proper china! not only delicious but elegant too! I also had the most gorgeous chocolate cake with chocolate icing but that was wolfed down before the camera came out!

wpid-20150425_113140.jpg

The chocolate cake is inn the middle!- photo courtesy of Ruby's Vintage Teaparty Facebook page.
The chocolate cake is in the middle!- photo courtesy of Ruby’s Vintage Teaparty Facebook page.

The Vintage Fair raises money for the Tom Bowdidge foundation a local charity supporting teens diagnosed with cancer. I entered the Tom Bowdidge raffle and was so pleased when I received a text the next day to say I’d won a £20 Fabric8 voucher! I’ve already seen some great dress fabric I’d like!

We had a lovely morning feeling the vintage, I only wish I’d allowed myself a bigger budget! I’ll know for next time! Definitely looking forward to that!

2 thoughts on “Colchester Secret Vintage Fayre

Leave a Reply

