Home made soup

I’v not been very well recently, in fact I’d go as far as to say I’ve been unwell more than I’ve been well in the last few months.

I went and bought loads of vegetables today to sneak into our dinners and also raided the fridge for all the ‘ready to turn’ veg.

I chopped two sprouting potatoes, a leek, some wet parsnips, a handful of mushrooms, half a red onion (I’m saving the other night for my beef burgers tonight), 3 carrots, a tin of processed peas and some chopped tinned plum tomatoes.

Ready for the chop!
I then sauted it all in butter in my very large soup pot, added some water, parsley, chilli powder, salt and pepper and simmered for an hour.

Next I took my hand blender and did a couple of whizzes (not too many, I like it chunky) and carried on simmering until it was the ideal consistency.

I didn’t realise I’d run out of stock cubes. If I’d have known I’d have made my own stock by boiling up all the peelings and ends.

Lets hope this busts all our bugs. Now to find the tupperware!

The shop had run out of chopped!
The shop had run out of chopped!

chop chop chop
chop chop chop

The more colours, the more vitamins!
The more colours, the more vitamins!
I shall update when it is finished

Don’t forget to follow!

4 thoughts on “Home made soup

  1. Mmmm that sounds good. As I’m commenting my homemade soup is warming up in the microwave. I made several batches and froze them to take to school. I defrost them and have them for lunch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

