Food glorious food

I’ve felt really guilty, I haven’t blogged in over a week!

Last week I used up the last of my DK claret on my Christmas blanket, it’s still not finished but I haven’t managed to get to my wool shop for more wool!

Cosy christmas blanket and heated seats on an icy day.
Cosy christmas blanket and heated seats on an icy day.
Doesn't feel like its getting any bigger!
Doesn’t feel like it’s getting any bigger!
Love the colours
Love the colours
Took my class to a football club for training. Thank god my blanket I was so cold!
Took my class to a football club for training. Thank god for my blanket I was so cold!

I haven’t been neglecting my cosy blanket either, it’s beginning to feel more like a blanket now rather than a scarf!

wpid-20141213_184439.jpgI woke up yesterday (Sunday) with a craving for pork, apple and stuffing. I think it’s important to have a roast dinner on a sunday, or at least a stew! I like to make sure I buy enough meat to use for sandwiches and dinner the day after too.

I took a kilo of pork shoulder (Aldi) and in my slow cooker laid it on a bed of white onion, 2 chopped apples and  a stock cube.

wpid-20141214_133848.jpg

Over the top i poured a glass of apple juice and some leftover cider.

Then I blitzed another onion, an apple and two stale bread rolls. I thought i had sausages in the freezer, but I didn’t, otherwise it would have been meaty! Into this I added sage, thyme and a beaten egg and smeared it onto the top of the pork.

stuffing
stuffing
Ready for the lid!
Ready for the lid!

I then put the temperature on high for 6 hours. I served the whole thing with roast potatoes, parsnips,brussel sprouts, yorkshire puddings and thick gravy. It was delicious! Because there is only two of us, I was able to make pork, apple and stuffing rolls for breakfast the next day and added to the onion and apple bed the leftover pork, leeks, carrots and onions for a stew tonight.

Not the best presentation but it didn't stay like that for long!
Not the best presentation but it didn’t stay like that for long!

Suffering from fatigue and a bad cough today so going to have a little nap now!

16.12.14 Edit to add: the leftovers stew was absolutely spectacula! I covered it with cheesy herby dumplings and had it monday night. It’s now tuesday lunchtime and I’ve had some more for my lunch, it gets better with every reheat!

3 thoughts on “Food glorious food

Leave a Reply

